Spread the love

The European Union Election Observer Mission for the 2020 elections is proposing definite timelines for the determination of parliamentary election petitions.

It suggested that “parliamentary election petitions be commenced 21 days after the declaration of results just like presidential election petitions.”

According to a report released by the mission, such a mechanism will enhance public confidence in the electoral process.

The Supreme Court has set a timeline of 42 days to rule on presidential election petitions but no such regime exists at the parliamentary level.

The EU observers believe that such parameters “will increase stakeholder access to an effective remedy and increase public confidence.”

There have been 16 court challenges to election results at the parliamentary level.

The New Patriotic Party and the National Democratic Congress are each challenging the results from eight constituencies, mainly seeking to have the elections turned in their favour.

The NPP for instance is challenging results in the Buem, Kintampo North, Savelugu, Pusiga, Jomoro, Assin North, Banda and Krachi West constituencies.

The NDC on the other hand is challenging results in the Techiman South, Hohoe, Tano South, Tarkwa Nsuaem, Essikado Ketan, Tema West, Zabzugu and Sefwi Wiawso constituencies.

The 16 challenges raised at the constituency level concern alleged electoral malpractices, eligibility of candidates and disenfranchisement of some eligible voters.

Spread the love