Spread the love

The Functional Executive Committee (FEC) of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has nominated the Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Mr Alban S. K. Bagbin, for Speaker in the eighth Parliament.

The nomination of the current MP for Nadowli-Kaleo followed the FEC meeting in Accra yesterday.

It also retained its leadership for the eighth Parliament, nominating the current Minority Leader, Mr Haruna Iddrisu, as the Majority Leader; the Deputy Minority Leader, Dr James Klutse Avedzi, as the Deputy Majority Leader and the Minority Chief Whip, Mr Mohammed-Mubarak Muntaka, as the Majority Chief Whip.

The others are the First Deputy Minority Whip, Mr Ibrahim Ahmed, as the First Deputy Majority Whip and the Second Deputy Minority Whip, Mrs Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe, as the Second Deputy Majority Whip.

No majority

Shedding light on the development, the Director of Communications of the NDC, Mr Kakra Essamuah, told the Daily Graphic yesterday that per the current composition of the Members of Parliament (MPs)-elect for the eighth Parliament, the NPP had no right to claim that it were in the majority because both the NDC and the NPP had 137 MPs each.

Spread the love